Nothing beats the classic Pesto

15 Nov

Pesto – just hearing the word makes me hungry; takes me to Italy, to thoughts of parmesan, garlic and gorgeous bruschetta, stuffed ravioli and fresh pasta recipes. I think dip, I think bread sticks, I think green, healthy…. Really, I just want it! So when the thought hit me the other day I had to make it!

A family food – yes, my children love it (I put a little less garlic in when they are having it with us and sometimes dilute it slightly with cream cheese in pasta dishes) – and very versatile. Can be used for any occasion! I like it as a dip, often just eat it by the spoon (!), and sprinkled over ripe, red tomatoes. Some people add it to their soup…never tried…but not one to judge!  It can be a simple dish but very much an extravagant one…never boring though!

It is, and I know I say this about most of what I cook, so easy to make. Ridiculously easy in fact. If you don’t believe me, try it!

I have made pesto this way since I was 13! My fabulous step mother, very good in a kitchen, taught me how to make it and I have never looked back! This makes enough to cover 500g pasta. Don’t worry about left overs! Keeps well in a jar in the fridge.

50g pine nuts
50g parmesan cheese in small chunks
2 cloves of garlic – peeled – ( this is the child friendly version! Add more if you like!)
A lot of basil….I love it….probably the equivalent of 1 large pot or two bags if you buy those
Pinch of salt (be careful not to add too much as the parmesan is salty on its own – may even be omitted)
Extra virgin olive oil…enough to make it smooth, but not so much that it covers everything. You will see what I mean as you pour it into the mix. Start slow – you can always add more later. I probably use about 120ml, give or take!
 
  •  Chuck all the ingredients, but only a glug (equivalent to about 1 tbsp) of the olive oil, into a food processor. If you do not have one, get one! :-) No, just kidding! If you don’t own any chopping machine you will have to do that bit of the job yourself, quite finely, and put it in a pestle and mortar. Squash away! Will be a softer pesto but the flavours will be there which is the most important. Or, just leave quite rough and ready. All good!

  • Start the food processor, or your arm, and add olive oil in small quantities as it churns. The mixture will change from dry to wet – from lumpy to smoothish and from separate colours to a sea of green. Smell it! Stunning right? Basil….yum!
  • When you think it is smooth enough – most people have a preference – stop the machinery or your arm! Stir a spoon through it. If it feels good you are done! If it feels or looks a bit dry, just add some more olive oil and stir through.
  • Put it in a jar in your fridge and use as and when you feel the need to smile!

Note

This is a really cute gift! Put a nice ribbon around your jar, maybe a hand written label, and give it as a housewarming gift with grissini (or posh breadsticks) as I call them!

Finally, make sure those around you have it too, especially your partner if you have one! Garlic is best when shared!!!  If you have no idea what I am on about, try being in close proximity to someone who has had garlic when you have not….let me know how it was!

12 Responses to “Nothing beats the classic Pesto”

  1. Alt er Energi November 15, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Mmm, love your pesto – Great photos and recipes on your blog!

  2. Charlotte November 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Tak for din søde bemærkning omkring pesto
    Opstarten i dit liv. Stort knus C

  3. Cam Burnett November 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I can taste the pesto!! I love your photos. Really shows the colour well.
    Cam x

  4. Lynette November 20, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Great! I’ve been trying for ages to find a peso without cashew nuts in it and so now I have it – I’ll have to make my own!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rye #5 – Thin Rye Crisps « - January 15, 2012

    [...] to be! It is just a light and crunchy bread that tastes great! How to eat this? With dips – hummus, pesto, olive tapenade or with salmon and cream cheese, mackerel pate, cottage cheese, brie and peppers, [...]

  2. Family Dinners #2 – Cheese and Ham stuffed Chicken Breasts « - May 5, 2012

    [...] them more “grown up” you can spice them up with some fresh chilli or spread a layer of pesto on the [...]

  3. A bit more of Italy yet not so simple! Pasta… « - July 10, 2012

    [...] with your choice of sauce – I made mine with pesto (and a bit of philadelphia mixed in for the children as I like my pesto very [...]

  4. Bloody Fingers, Bats and Teeth…. | - October 13, 2013

    […] are great served with hummus, guacamole, pesto or tomato […]

Share your thoughts...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

