Shade Seeking

Here we are, almost in October, having absolutely amazing weather and yet, when expressing my joy at this glorious late summer, I often get the reply, with much feeling: ” it’s too hot”. Excuse me? Nah! Surely not! Too hot?? Then seek the shade!

I was out for a run this morning with a friend, and yes, even at 9am it was very warm. As we were battling along all I could think of was “shade, shade, shade”… I was constantly seeking shade – rather than focussing on my running, the technique, the hills and the road. It made for a very hard workout and at 10k I gave up! (My friend ran on by the way – good girl!)

It made me cross though. I gave up. What is it with human nature? Why is it sometimes so hard to stay strong? Why are some always believing it is too hot or too cold or too windy or too wet…never good enough. Never right. Neighbours grass is always greener. Well here is a thought – maybe it is greener because they water it more…..:-)

What is human nature and why is it we act the way we do?  Human nature is often referred to as a clear set of characteristics that humans naturally posses. In other words, we are born with them. But a baby, surely, is a clean slate? Therefore in my opinion, sure, there is a general set of characteristics that humans posses, but I believe these are mostly taught to us by our surroundings. Human nature does not force an individual to behave in a certain way – like me seeking shade and giving up and my friend continuing – however it probably makes us more inclined to act in a certain way than another.

What makes me laugh about us humans is the way we push ourselves – especially when faced with large obstacles, fear or pain. Where animals run and hide, stick their heads in the sand, we charge at it, wanting to prove to the world we can do it. How silly is that!! Animals seem to have this amazing self-preservation instinct, we humans override this – why?

Maybe the answer to this is that human nature is two-fold. One side is a source of normal conduct, basic ways of life, where the other presents us with obstacles and constraints on actually living a great life. Devil and Angel – one on each shoulder. Perhaps that is a good thing? Would it not be boring if it were all straight forward always? If life was simple? Where would the challenges be, how would we learn and grow?

I leave you with that thought! Thanks for reading along….

Share your thoughts...

